Charity · Community · Projects

Tying it up

As a teacher of young children, I often think about the role that children play in our community. I wonder whether they see themselves as a part of it? I ask myself how to promote a genuine sense of belonging and participation.

Our classroom is a community, too. We actively involve children in shaping their environment by delegating them some of our jobs like cleaning the tables or sweeping the floors. Some projects are more exciting like building a playhouse with wood and power tools. Usually, the children are exceptionally respectful and cooperative, partially because of the trust that we have in them.

I applied the same thinking when I approached the after-school Excel program leaders about involving children in stitching up the blanket squares for the Phoenix youth shelter. The elementary school that my daughter attends has already done a project for Phoenix in the past. The leaders were excited, and so were the children. I thought that it would make perfect sense to connect different generations — the senior ladies who knit the squares, the children who would put them together, and the youth that would hopefully benefit from the blankets’ underlying message of coziness and care.

Well… the blankets were stitched and they reflected all the enthusiasm and good intentions of those caring kids.  However, the “blankets” weren’t really blankets in the strict sense of the word. They were more like colourful little rags loosely tied together with the very bright yarn. They were beautiful, and they made my heart warm but I had a very clear understanding that they would not make a real human body warm.

They looked more like… art. So I decided to reflect on the message hidden in those irregular, hole-y creations. The children worked hard to make someone they have never met a little happier, a little more comfortable in trying circumstances. They might have not had the skills to produce a blanket that would survive a wash but I felt that those pieces somehow belonged in the shelter anyway. If they couldn’t warm up the bodies, they still could warm up the hearts.

After selecting a few stitches pieces, I put them on the large sticks and asked the shelter staff for feedback. I explained the work that went into them and added a note.

IMG_20160319_141555

IMG_20160319_141657

IMG_20160319_141344

The shelter staff was most gracious in accepting these works. Not only did they display both pieces at the entrance in the office but also they made a beautiful photo with all the staff members holding those stitched squares. The photo was framed and gifted to the school. In the following weeks, when I picked up my daughter from school, I would see the photo on the wall in the hallway.

Art Thank You

I was amazed how respectful these committed and sensitive adults were towards the children’s work even though it didn’t serve its original purpose. Imagine how empowering it was for children to walk by this photo and be able to say “We did it, together”.

You might ask what happened to the rest of the squares? I had to take them apart, air on my balcony, sort by size, and give them to the local junior high school. Will older children be able to design and put together an actual blanket? As my daily practice shows, the only way of knowing what the children will do is to try and see.

5 thoughts on “Tying it up

  1. What an interesting and creative idea! I don’t know where you find time… This is very impressive on multiple counts: teaching children about caring for adults, teaching older adults that they are not written off by the community and are very much a useful, helpful part of it and teaching those less fortunate that others care and think of them. Great job!

  2. It’s great to see little ones participate in a project to help others!
    Keep up the good work Olha!
    fina smiley

  3. Hi was so thrilled to see and hear what the young folks have done…I started a bunch of odd colored granny squares, planning to make an afghan.well, time has gone by and MR ARTHRITIS has taken over my hands.I can still manage to play keyboard for our small church gathering, but that’s about all, except for the rectangular hand wipers by the sinks……SSSOOOOOOOOO, i think these young people could do a fabulous job of attaching these in some wonderful way……

    Now,realizing postage is expensive these days,it would be my pleasure to box these up and send to you to be used for blankets…I think it would be a great project….Now,all I need is#1 confirmation that these COULD be useful, and #2 an address where I can send these. If this is not a good idea, please inform me, as I need to do somethng with them…Thanking you for your response and #1 for advising of this great job they have done.Sincerely,in Jesus name, Marie Brymer All the best in all your work!!!

    ________________________________

    1. Hi Marie,

      Thank you for your reply. I think they definitely could be useful but in my experience, granny squares look better in a blanket when they are crocheted together. Can I ask you how many you have and what sizes they are? Do you have enough to make a twin size blanket?

  4. This is a wonderful piece of art, you may want to share my story, I also make these squares sew them together and make shawls and blankets for a friend who winters in an area of Mexico where it is very cool at night. My shawls are worn by the ladies as they prepare their evening meal and other wraps used for bed coverings. Thank you to the young friends for being involved in this wonderful project. Linda MacDonald, West Dublin ( South Shore ) NS. Sent from my iPod

So, what do you think?